Curriculum Development

 

The Sino-UK Integrated Program integrates Regular Courses (including China's national compulsory courses and IGCSE courses) and A-Level courses (including AS and A2 courses), which not only retains the advantages of China's national compulsory courses in their capacity to consolidate basic subject knowledge for students, but also integrates the essence of Cambridge international courses in supplement.

 

The IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) is currently considered to be one of the most mature international courses for students aged 15-17 in the world, Sino-UK Integrated Curriculum offers courses including Chinese, Mathematics, English, English Literature, Economics, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Computer Science, Physical Education, Art and other regular courses. After completing their studies at this stage, students will have a smooth transition into their A-Level courses.

 

A-Level (General Certificate of Education Advanced Level) is an advanced course level for the British General Secondary Education Certificate Examination. It is divided into AS and A2, with each phase accounting for one year. Courses include English (First Language), English Literature, Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics, Economics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Computer Science, Geography, History, Politics, Sports, Art, etc.

 

Both IGCSE and A-Level courses are designed by CAIE (Cambridge Assessment International Education), and are recognized by more than 11,000 universities in over 160 countries and regions.

Exams and Competitions

 

VMA was accredited by the Cambridge International Examinations in 2016 and became an official teaching and examination center. Students can complete their course of study and examination in Sino-UK integrated curriculum at VMA. There are two exams for IGCSE and A Level, one of which is offered in May and in June, and the other in October and November. After they are written, test papers will be reviewed at the exam board headquarters in Cambridge, UK. Results are announced in August and the following January of each academic year.

In addition, the IGCSE exam is divided into Extended and Core tracks. The former is more academically difficult, and students can get up to an A *, while the latter focuses on basic core knowledge, but students can only get up to a C, as well as needing to take 3 to 5 AS courses and exams, after which applying for university with their IGCSE scores, AS scores, and the estimated grades of their A2 courses. After this process, students will continue to complete their coursework and exams in the AL phase.

 

Furthermore, VMA encourages students to actively participate in subject-based competitions and projects, including the Waterloo Mathematics and Modeling Competition in Canada, the British Physicist Championships, the British Biological Olympics Competition, and the Australian Mathematical Competition. At the same time, VMA offers the Duke of Edinburgh Award program, which focuses on assessing four key skills — “social service”, “skills learning”, “physical exercise”, and “outdoor adventure”. Students who stand out during assessment will receive as their reward international medals and certificates authorized by the Duke of Edinburgh's Award Foundation. It is not only a lifetime honor, but is also recognized by many top universities and enterprises.

Diplomas and Certificates

 

After completing the IGCSE course, students need to take the Checkpoint exam. After selecting 7 courses in 5 subjects out of those offered by the IGCSE International Examination, they will receive an International Certificate of Education issued by Cambridge Assessment, a certificate divided into three levels, namely “Merit”, “Distinction”, and “Pass”, to highlight the students’ academic achievements.

 

Similarly, students who have passed 3 exams in the A-Level subjects as well as the Cambridge Global Perspective and Research course exams will receive a Cambridge Advanced International Certificate of Education Diploma. This diploma will demonstrate that students have performed in-depth academic research in a wide array of subjects.

 

After completing the Sino-UK Integrated Curriculum courses and acquiring the credits required, students can obtain the VMA graduation diploma.

课程设置

        中英融合课程包含了基石课程(含中国国家必修课程及IGCSE课程)及A Level课程(含AS和A2阶段课程),既保留了中国国家必修课程为学生夯实基础学科知识的优势,也融合了英国剑桥国际课程的精髓。

 

         IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education)是目前世界上公认最成熟的针对15-17岁学生的国际课程之一,中英融合课程将开设中文、数学、附加数学、英语语言、英语文学、经济学、化学、物理、生物、计算机科学、体育、艺术等基石课程,学生完成该阶段课程后,将能顺利衔接至A Level阶段的课程学习。

 

        A-Level (General Certificate of Education Advanced Level)是英国普通中等教育证书考试高级水准课程,分为AS和A2两年,将开设英语(第一语言)、英语文学,数学、进阶数学、经济、物理、化学、生物、计算机科学、地理、历史、政治、体育、艺术等课程。

 

        IGCSE和A-Level课程都由CAIE(Cambridge Assessment International Education) 剑桥国际教育评估测试中心设计,被160多个国家与地区,11000多所大学认可。

考试与竞赛

        万科梅沙书院于2016年获得英国剑桥考试委员会认证授权,成为官方教学与考试中心,学生可在万科梅沙书院校内完成中英融合课程的学习和考试。IGCSE和A Level每年有夏冬季两次考试,分别在5、6月和10、11月,试卷命制及批阅将在英国剑桥总部完成,成绩将分别于每年8月和次年1月公布。

 

        此外,IGCSE考试分为拓展(Extended)和核心(Core)两类,前者学术难度较高,学生最高可获得A *,后者是针对基本核心内容考试,但学生最高只能获得C。且学生需参加3-5门AS阶段的学习和考试,并以IGCSE和AS成绩,连同A2阶段学科预估成绩申请大学,并在AL阶段继续完成该课程的学习和考试。

 

        学校也将鼓励学生积极参与学科类的比赛和项目,包括加拿大滑铁卢数学及建模竞赛、英国物理学家锦标赛、英国生物奥林匹克竞赛、澳大利亚数学竞赛等。同时,学校也提供英国爱丁堡公爵奖项目,重点考核学生们的四项技能——“社会服务”、“技能学习”、“体育锻炼”和“户外探险”,在考核中脱颖而出的学生,将获颁英国爱丁堡公爵奖基金会授权的国际奖章和证书,这不仅是终身的荣誉,更是获得不少顶级名校和名企的认可。

文凭与证书

        学生在完成IGCSE课程的学习后,需参加Checkpoint考试,学生在IGCSE国际考试科目中,从5类学科领域选择并通过7门课程的考试后,将获得英国剑桥考试委员会颁发的国际教育证书(International Certificate of Education),该项证书分为“卓越”、“优秀”、“通过”三个层级,以彰显学生所获取的学术成就。

 

        同样的,学生在通过A Level阶段3类学科领域的考试,及剑桥国际视野与研究课程考试后,可获得剑桥国际高级教育证书文凭(Cambridge Advanced International Certificate of Education Diploma),获得此文凭将极好地展示学生在广泛均衡的学科领域有着深入的学术研究。

 

        学生在学习中英融合课程,完成相关毕业学分要求后,同样可获得万科梅沙书院颁发的文凭。

EN